A Few Updates

Exactly one week ago, I returned to the brutally cold, cheese loving state of Wisconsin. Since then, a few things have happened:

5) I made my first appearance at the local coffeehouse

One of the main reasons I came back to Wisconsin was because I love the coffeehouse here so much. When I was walking there, I kind of envisioned that they might have a free latte and a  “Welcome Back Sarah!!!!!!” banner waiting for me upon my arrival; they didn’t but It’s okay, I still love them.

4) I did something really adventurous

When I was at the coffeehouse, I didn’t order coffee– I ordered tea. This is really out of character for me but I felt like spicing things up a little so I ordered a chai tea. It was REALLY hot even after profusely blowing on it. I went over to the counter and asked the guy if he could put some milk in it and he was like “Um, there’s milk right there” and he pointed to a pitcher of milk right in front of me… Oh.

3) My grandma and I are learning how to converse in Hebrew

After my experience in Israel where I basically got bullied into buying a pair of sneakers, I decided it might be a good idea to learn some basic Hebrew. Also, I want to be able to speak in Hebrew so that when I go back to Israel, I know which type of coffee I’m actually ordering

2) I got an iphone

I’ve always been that one friend that is technologically behind. Just last year, I had a razr because my other phone broke due to water damage. So yeah, I don’t really know how to use it but I enjoy obsessively using emojis. Also, it takes way better pictures than my old phone which reminds me that I have a disposable camera from over the summer that my friends and I took a lot of photo gems with so I need to get that developed.

1) I watched an interesting documentary with my grandparents

Normally, I don’t agree to watch things with my grandparents because they have weird taste but this one caught my attention.  It was a  documentary about J.D Salinger, author of The Catcher in the Rye. As a writer, I love learning about authors and the story behind their work. It was fascinating to see how his writing was both the best and worst thing that happened to him and how despite being extremely successful, he chose to live a life of seclusion. Coincidentally, I was reading The Catcher in the Rye the first time I went to the local coffeehouse here in Wisconsin.
 
So those are a few updates on my first week back in Wisconsin. I’ve been really busy so my writing time has been limited but I will post again soon! xoxo sarahgurl

Leave a Reply

